Gossip

Who was it
Said I was struck on Süheyla?
Who was it
Saw me kissing Eleni
Near Yüksekkaldirim in broad daylight?
Then I grabbed Melahat
And took her to Alemdar, right?
I’ll explain that later, but
Whose legs did I touch-up on the tram?
Apparently I have a taste for Galata brothels,
Apparently we get smashed
And go there to unwind.
Don’t waste your time,
Forget all that crap –
Like I don’t know what I’m doing.

Or is it the story of me throwing Mualla
Into a rowing boat and making her sing
“Your pain is in my heart”?

 

Orhan Veli

Translated by George Messo

Back o’ beyond

 

You’re in the back o’ beyond,

Homesick like hell.

It’s evening,

The sun goes down,

What the hell can you do but drink?

 

Orhan Veli

Translated by George Messo

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Orhan Veli

Leave a Reply

